New dishes using LEFT OVERS

Discussion in 'Krishnaammas Kitchen' started by krishnaamma, Mar 28, 2007.

1. krishnaamma

krishnaamma Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Crispy Strips

Ingredients

4-5 Chapatis
    Oil to fry
    Salt to taste
    Red Chilli powder
    Chat masala

Method

Cut the chapatis into long strips. (Use a scissors).
    Fry them in oil till deep brown.
    Lay these fried strips on tissue paper.
    Apply salt, chilli powder and chat masala to these strips.
    You can also use grated cheese.
    Serve with tomato sauce. Serve hot.

2. krishnaamma

Nice Biscuit Cake

Ingredients

10 – 12 nice biscuit
    milk 1 glass
    3 spoons sugar
    drinking chocolate mix

Method

Take 1 glass milk and add sugar to it.
    Stir it for 3 min until the sugar dissolves.
    Now take the chocolate powder and mix it with the sweet milk.
    Keep on adding the chocolate powder until we get the dark chocolate colour.
    Arrange the biscuits like a row in a plastic bread box.
    Now start pouring little chocolate milk between the layers; so that we get the order first the biscuit then the chocolate milk.
    And then keep it in the freezer for 2 hrs.
    Then remove from the box and use it.
    Your children will like this.

3. krishnaamma

Fridge Cake

Ingredients

10 – 12 marie biscuits
    1 tin condensed milk
    1/2 a cup butter
    1 packet lemon jelly

Method

Crush marie biscuits.
    Mix with 1/2 cup melted butter.
    Put the crushed biscuits in that and pour the mixture in a container.
    Place the container in the fridge.
    Let it set.
    Dissolve 1 packet lemon jelly in 1 1/2 cups boiling water and 1 tin condensed milk
    Mix well and filled cooled base.
    Serve chilled with whipped cream.

4. krishnaamma

Chocolate Biscuit Cake

Ingredients

marie biscuits - 1 packet
    butter - 6 tbsp
    castor sugar (finely powdered) - 6 tbsp
    drinking chocolate powder - 2 tbsp
    coffee dicoction - 1 cup
    nuts & dry fruits - (optional)

Method

Cream butter and sugar until fluffy.
    Blend in the chocolate powder.
    Dip four biscuits in coffee dicoction.
    Place these biscuits on a flat tray.
    Spread a little of the butter, sugar, chocolate mixture evenly on these biscuits.
    Add another layer of coffee soaked biscuits.
    Repeat the process till all the biscuits are over.
    Spread a layer of butter, sugar, chocolate mixture on the last layer of biscuits.
    Decorate with nuts or dry fruits (optional).
    Place the tray in the freezer and freeze for 30 to 45 minutes.
    Cut into pieces and serve.

Last edited: Apr 7, 2007
  5. krishnaamma

Marie Biscuits into Cream Biscuts

Ingredients

marie biscuits – 15 - 20
    butter - 6 tbsp/Cream
    castor sugar (finely powdered) - 6 tbsp
    drinking chocolate powder - 2 tbsp
    Or any other essence + colour as per your taste.

Method

Cream butter and sugar until fluffy.
    Or mix castor sugar with cream.
    Blend in the chocolate powder.
    Or add essence drops and colour with the mix.

Place these biscuits on a flat tray.
    Spread a little of the butter, sugar, chocolate mixture evenly on these biscuits.
    Put another biscuit on that and just press.
    Keep aside. Repeat the process till all the biscuits are over.
    Just keep the biscuits in the fridge for ½ an hour.
    After that you can use your cream biscuits.

Note: You can use any essence as per your taste and if you want ‘coconut cream biscuit’ means, add coconut powder with cream and powdered sugar; without adding any essence.

6. krishnaamma

Cooked Rice Payasam

Ingredients:

1 cup cooked rice
    1 1/2 cup sugar
    1/2 cup cashew nuts
    1 cup milk
    1/2 ts. cardamom powder or
    a pinch 'pachai kalpuram'
    10 - 12 kis mis
    2 sp ghee

Method:

Put cooked rice, cashew nuts, sugar and milk in a mixer grinder.
    Grind well. Remove from it.
    In a deep pan, pour 2 sp ghee and fry kis mis.
    Add the groung mixture.
    Stir well. If you want add water to get the "payasam" consistency.
    Add cardamom powder and bring it to a boil.
    Remove from the fire and use it.
    Your delicious 'cooked rice payasam' is ready.

7. latamurali

Hello Krishnaamma

This post is Very interesting and really useful one

Thank u for sharing

And, i have a doubt reg. BREAD POTATO CUTLET in that u have asked to mix all the items with bread with any shape and dip it in the maida/sooji flou for frying , pls tell me whether that flour shld be in what consistency, that is , it shld be like dosa mavu or idly mavu , i tried once to mak Veg cutlet all came well but the maida dough is very loose(i prepared) and so its very diifficlut to dip in it, DIDNT GET PROPER SHAPE and if the dough is tight , we cant dip also

Iam confused , pls guide me

latamurali

8. krishnaamma

Hi Latha,

The batter should be like 'Bajji' consistency.:thumbsup ok?

9. latamurali

Hai Krishna amma

ok ok DONE!

I WILL TRY AND GIVE U fb ABOUT THAT AFTER SOMETIME

LATAMURALI(ME TOO KRISHNA AMMA)

10. krishnaamma

Latha, I cant understand these words? :confused:can you explain?:bang:thumbsup