Let's Fire Up Those Neurons!

Discussion in 'Education & Personal Growth' started by Gauri03, Jul 23, 2014.

1. sokanasanah

sokanasanah IL Hall of Fame

You're right, that was easy!

BB1.jpg

2. Aria

Aria New IL'ite

I was recently in India and was surprised to see this package bundled away in obscure corner. If you are that kid who grew up in 90s you will identify the famous "Tell Me Why" and "Children's Knowledge Bank" (Pustak Mahal Publication) series. I could not resist to buy and freight that package. Last night was reading them, many core topics are au courant.

There is something very endearing and perduring anent books published for kids
    which adults enjoy.

PustakMahal.jpg

Deeps, sorry need to skip your puzzle. Am away for Easter break, few get-togethers over spring & will reconnect when I'm back.

Happy Easter @neurites.

(No time to prepare a card, though I'd have loved and had a visual sketch)

3. Aria

Aria New IL'ite

Howdy- hellody!
    Travel, friends, spring cleaning and amidst all this , what did I pull out from my lost-and-found hamper a cowbell, not any cowbell but that ding-a-ling cowbell.

The year ~1998 (watched few years after the movie was released) ..
    Torn beween desi and firangi onslaught, Raj or Mulder
    Whom should I vest loyalty
    One day it happens, swiss alps, snowflakes, nival dreams, know what I'll get ...
    Dusting the cowbell of DDLJ bought in a small town in Switzerland few years ago
    What is with cowbell and Swiss folklore which I never bothered to search

According to Wikipedia:

The importance of the cow bell is highlighted in Swiss folklore, which reflects a period when a great Trychel, or large cow bell, was a rare and much-coveted item. The legend of the Simmental tells how a young cowherd strays inside a mountain, and is offered by a beautiful woman the choice between a treasure of gold coins, a golden Trychel, or the fairy herself. He chooses the Trychel.As opposed to regular cast-metal bells, trychlen are made of hammered sheet metal. This results in a clanking, less crisp sound, but at the same time results in a bell that is lighter and thus easier to carry. In Southern Germany, such cow bells are called Kuhglocke.

For me the cowbell is always associated with Raj and his adorable smile , they say bell the cat but I say bell the man! Clip - Aa aa aa aa aa

CB.jpg

(changed the background from wooden floor that you guys may be bored by now, iske ghar mein kuch furniture hai kya)

4. Aria

Aria New IL'ite

Neurites may find jive translator interesting!
    Type in common English and enjoy the translations.

Background: JiveFilter

5. deepslikes

deepslikes Platinum IL'ite

6. Laks09

Laks09 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

@deepslikes - I had no idea. Then I looked again at the date. Now I know why!

7. Laks09

@aria - Raj cutie and a cowbell lesson! Thanks. Btw, I have promised myself to stop using colloquial language on IL. My grammar isn't getting better with the usage and I'm carrying it forward to emails and conversations as well. I am supposed to be using grammarly extensively in the next couple of weeks. If you are wondering who made me do it, don't worry. It's completely self imposed!

8. sokanasanah

sokanasanah IL Hall of Fame

And for the sake of completeness:
    Post #1641 is a frame from the opening credit sequence for the US TV show "The Brady Bunch" (ABC 1969 - 1974).

James Brady was the White House Press Secretary who was also shot and permanently disabled in John Hinckley's assassination attempt.

9. Laks09

Serious question - Did all of you have access to TVs in the early 80? Btw, my GK is based on whatever came on TV news, that's why the query.

10. Gauri03

Gauri03 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

We had one of those black and white box televisions during the early 80s - an EC TV, like this one.

ec-tv-20-inch-black-and-white-delhi.jpg

I was too little to remember but as per my mother they bought it in 1982 for the Asian games.

While TV played its role in whetting my appetite for trivia, most of what I know now came from and continues to come from books. Reading to the point of distraction where I would no longer be aware of eating or sleeping was my vice. It was my escape.