Special shlokas for specific purposes

Discussion in 'Pujas Prayers & Slokas' started by Chitvish, Apr 7, 2006.

1. tripuradasan

tripuradasan New IL'ite

A wonderful slokha from Aananda Saagara Stavam

I am posting a wonderful slokha from Aananda saagara sthavam (author : Shri Neelakanta Deekshitar - in the lineage of the Great Appayya Deekshitar; Shri Neelakanta Deekshitar was an advisor to Thirumalai naicker and this great classical work of 108 slokhas was written under miraculous circumstances about which I will make a detailed post if possible in our group).

"Na gnyaayate mama hitam nitaraamupaayO
    DeenOsmi Devi samayAcharanAkshamOsmi
    tat tvAm ananya sharanam sharanam prapadye
    MeenAkshi vishwa jananIm jananIm mamaiva"

(This is the 32nd verse in that Magnum opus).

The meaning of this is:

"I do not know what is good for me; I do not know the means of attaining it. I am incapable of performing the prescribed rituals as per your wonderful Samayaachaara lineage. Therefore, I who have no other refuge take refuge in Thee, O Meenaakshi, the Mother of the Universa - and also my MOTHER!"

You can chant this while lighting the prayer lamp. This is a "prapatti" slokha - invoking Mother Goddess as your personal God Mother. Reciting this slokha can secure forgiveness for possible shortcomings in pooja procedures/ rituals, and secure the Grace of Divine Mother. After all you are declaring mother Meenaakshi as your mother. How can a Mother punish a child? A Mother is always forgiving and indulgent, and will try to cover up the shortcomings of children and correct them gently. So, Mother Meenaakshi will guide the family with Her Invisible Presence when this slokha is chanted.

I am posting this in response to the query of a member of this group who wanted to know what are the slokhas that can be chanted apart from the usual "shubham karoti kalyaanam...." slokha.

Aaseervaathangal.

2. tripuradasan

tripuradasan New IL'ite

Re: Mantras to ward off black magic !

Dear Ms. Sindhu:

There are many mantras to nullify the effects of black magic.

1) There is a homam on Ucchishta Mahaaganapati that can be most helpful in this regard. contact reputed upaasakaas for this purpose. One person I know in this regard is Pandit. DAKSHINAMOORTHI avargal about whom I often I refer in this forum. He is a highly saatwik but courageous upaasakaa, and very philosophical in his approach. As he is doing Ganapathi homam on all chaturthis, you can get in touch with him in this regard if you are interested. If you are in chennai, you can contact Guruji directly at his residence in Babanagar, Villivakkam.

You may approach any person whom you deem to be a spiritual expert also in this regard (But please note that Ucchishta Ganapathi recitals are not done by everyone unlike Mahaa Ganapathi japam that is known to all vedic shastris. That is why I referred Pandit avargal's name).

2) Chanting the following slokha :paraabhichaara samanah Dukha Panjana kaarakah
    Lavah Druti kalaa KAshtA Nimaeshah kati muhUrthahah" from Ganapathy Sahasranaamam is a powerful remedy for black magic. You have to keep Holy Ash in your right hand and chant the above mantra 108 times and then smear your forehead (or on the forehead of the person who is suspected to be afflicted with black magic) after the recital. Within 48 days you will find good improvement.
    3) Chanting/ listening to Sarabha Upanishad can be a good healer for this.
    4) Worship of Goddess Pratiyangira helps in removing black magic.
    5) Reciting Hanumaan Chaalisaa 9 times daily for 18 days gives good recovery from evil effects of black magic.
    6) Performance of Dattatreya homam on Pournami days will help.

You may perform any one or more of the above as per your convenience.

Aseervaathangal.

3. Vidya24

Vidya24 Gold IL'ite

Dear Sri Tripuradasansir,

Thank you for the wonderful slokam by Neelakanta Dikshitar. Look forward to chanting this along with the other Deepa Jyoti slokams.

Namaskarams.
    Vidya

4. hari116

hari116 New IL'ite

Help For Job !!

Namaste to all ,

Please tell me what Sloka/prayer I shld chant to get a job ?
    Also Which name in Visnu shahasranaman is meant for job ?

I am thinking of chanting the nava sloka sundara kandam i found in this forum?
    Is that effective?
    Please guide me in this...
    Hari.

5. Chitvish

Hello Hari,
    Please go through
    Shloka Index
    in detail. There are a few chants from Visnu shahasranaman for specific purposes. Please chant the shloka to attain the impossible.You will come across many if you find time to go through the above.

6. sunkan

Devi Kshamaapana Stotram

DEAR GIRIJA,
    AS I HAD TO TYPE IT, THOUGHT POSTING HERE MANY MAY BENEFIT, KINDLY CHEK IN TAMIL FONT IF YOU CAN GET, TO PRONOUNCE WELL...SUNKAN

Devi abharaada kchamaapana stotram:

Na manthram No yanthram thathapisana jaaney sthuthi maho
    Na sahvahnam dyaanaam thatha pisana jaaney sthuthi gadha:
    Na jaaney mudraasthey thatha pisana jaaney vilabhanam
    Param jaaney maanas dwadhanusaranam kalesa haranam ..

Viderakhgyanena thravina virahenaalsadhyaa
    Videya sakyathwath thava sharana yoryaa chyuthirapooth
    Thatheydath shanthvaiyam janani sagalothdharini shive
    Kubhuthro jaayedha kwachithamabhi kumaadha na bhavadhi..

Pruthivyam puthrasthey janani bhahavassandhi saralaa:
    Param deshaam mathye virala dharaLoham thava sudhaha:
    Madhiyoyam thyagas samuktha midham No thava shivey

Jagan maadhasthava sharan sevaa na rasithaa
    Na va daththam devi thrivinamabhi bhooyas thava mayaa
    Dadhaa bhee thvam sneham mayii nirupamam yath brughurushey

Parithyaktha devaan vivida vida sevaa khuladaya..
    Mayaa panchaasi theradhigamapanidhey thu vayasii
    Idhaa neem cheyn maadas thava yadhi kruipa naabhi bhavithaa
    Niraalambo lambodhara janani kamyami sharanam..

Swabhagho jalpaagho bhavadi madhupagopaamagira
    Niradhango rango viharadhi siram koti kanakai
    Thavaa bharney karney visadhi madhuvarney palamidham
    Janaha: gho jaaneedhey janani jabhaneeyam jabhavidow..

Chidhabhasma leybho karaLa masanam thikpadadharo
    Jadhaadhari kandey bhujagapathihaari pashupathi:
    Kabhali bhootheysho bhajathi jagadheesaigha padaveem
    Bhavaani thvathpaanikgrahana paripaadi palamidham..

Na motchasya kaanghsha na sa vibhavavaanchabhi sana mey
    Vigyana petsha sasimukhi sughechchabhi na punaha:
    Adasthwam samyasey janani yaadu mamavai
    Mrudaani rudraani shiva shiva bhavaneedhi jabhadaha:

Naraadhidhaasi vidhina vividho pasaarayi hi:
    Kim rutchasindhana parair na krudam vasobhi hi:
    Syamey thwameva yadhi kinchana mayiya naadhey
    Dathsey krubha muchidha mamba param thavaiva..

Aabhathsu maknaha smaranamthwadeeyam
    Karomi dhurgey karunaarnavesi
    Naidhach shadathvam mamabhaavayedhaa:
    Sudhaaha tshudhaartha jananeem smarandhi

Jagathambha vichithramathra kim
    Paripoorna karunaasthi cheyn mayi
    Abharadha paramparavridham
    Na hi matha samupetshadey sudham:

Math samaha Padhaghi naasthi paabhaagkni thvathsamanahi
    Yevam gnyathwa mahadevii yadha yoghyam dhadha guru..

SUNKAN'S PRESENTATION TO YOU
    <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]--> <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]--> <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]--> <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]--> <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]--> <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]--> <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]--> <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]--> <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]--> <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]--> <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]--> <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]-->
    <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]-->

Last edited: Jan 5, 2008
  7. girijashaji

girijashaji New IL'ite

Re: Devi Kshamaapana Stotram

Dear Sunkan
    Thank you very much for your prompt reply.
    I was waiting for this.
    Girija

8. Ramyakaushik

Ramyakaushik New IL'ite

Hello everyone!!!

Iam very please to join this thread. I spend most of time in reading slokam and doing pooja as I have good faith in God. I always guide people with some slokams and they get good results and they often praise for the good they experiance . But I have learnt
    slokams which I never knew from this website.

I want to know whether their is any slokam for changing Husband Habit's .My sistenin law is having too many problems like her husband is drinking and so on.I have asked her to read Vishnu Sahasranamam , Sundarakandam. But Is there any specific slokam for that. Please respond immediately.

I would also like to share some of my personel feelings . Actually Sundara Kandam is
    my favourite and it has brought many changes to people who I suggested to read and in my life . I have had many downtimes when I use to read Sundarakandam and get betterment . I also suggest all the people to read Sundarakandam.If not the whole chapters you can 27th chapter by the name Trijatha Swapnam which will give you all that you need .

Ramya:bowdown

9. Vidya24

Vidya24 Gold IL'ite

Dear Ramya,

Welcome to Indusladies! I am sure other members will be able to suggest a remedial slokam to help curb the alcoholic tendencies of your friend's husband.

There is a temple called Chakkulam (Chakulathu kaavu) near Mavelikkara in Kerala. The Devi there is very powerful, legend has it that Durga rested there after ShumbaNishumba vadam.

This temple is powerful in stopping drinking habit. It is usually crowded with women(wives) who are praying to the Devi to stop their husbands from drinking. There are special poojas and remedial measures performed here for the same.

Many women worship in the temple three Fridays in a row and then place a small lamp on the last Friday to help in this distress.

I am sure your friend's husband will get relief from this hanit soon,by Chakkulathamma's Grace.

Vidya

10. lmani

lmani Senior IL'ite

Re: How do I thank you for your kind words, Vidya ?

Chitra
    Do you know which removes pain in the body and keeps you in the positive side.